White Gap Road, Little Weighton, East Yorkshire HU20 3XE

Tel: 01482 844743

Little Weighton Rowley C of E Primary

Together We Can...

Early Year Curriculum

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) has seven key areas of learning. These areas of learning are all interconnected and are used to determine what children should learn and how children's learning will be supported and developed through their Foundation Stage journey, this includes their time in FS1 (nursery) and in FS2 (reception).

These seven areas are split into two categories 'Prime' areas of learning and 'Specific' areas of learning. The prime areas include Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development. The specific areas of learning are Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Art and Design.

Our long term plans for each area of EYFS also link to our whole school curriculum and subject learning pathways. This enables us to show progression of knowledge and skills from FS1 (nursery) to Year 6. 

The links below show the long term planning for each area of for each cycle. We are currently following Cycle One.

Cycle One Cycle Two
Communication and Language Communication and Language
Personal, Social and Emotional Development Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Physical Development Physical Development
Literacy Literacy
Mathematics Mathematics
Understanding the World Understanding the World
Expressive Art and Design Expressive Art and Design